The myth of the “Silent” majority

silent majority

The Silent Majority is a very real thing. There’s a Wikipedia page, and even a book about it. Mostly, the term is used to describe a majority that doesn’t voice their opinion. This term has often been used to describe white male Republicans specifically. They are never silent, nor are the Democrats. The myth about these people not voicing their opinion might have arose from the silence of a losing party and the division of political lines in America. Even if your party won you didn’t want to talk about politics.  We all know this is no longer true of most people, although it holds a tenuous position atop a list of things you shouldn’t talk about around certain people.

How I know they aren’t Silent

It’s been stated that swing voters are idiots. Are they really? I’m a swing voter, I have been since I could vote. My vote has no allegiance to a specific party. I’m not averse to third party candidates who have no chance of winning. But why do I know they aren’t silent? They voice their opinion of me all the time. If the subject was turned to how they treat people they feel are inferior then I believe they are not silent in any way.

Some will even try to sway you to their side, or “the dark side”. I get used to hearing things around this time of the election season like “You have to vote for Obama or I’ll break up with you.” or “Trump is your only option or I’m firing you.” It would seem like I’m exaggerating about these silent majority types, but only a little.

Why we call them silent

We were ignoring them. It pretty simple to deduce that a white male with no physical or mental disabilities will have all the privilege in the world. Average Joe with an average background and average intelligence will always come out ahead right? Except that’s not true in every situation. This is when they become loud and unruly, and largely get ignored. Were they silent? I thought so.

For most of my life I have been a quiet person. I was shy in school and didn’t talk much through my 20s either. Does this make me the silent majority? Absolutely not, and in most occasions I’m a political minority. I believe it is not the majority but the minorities that are often the silent ones. The majority that claims to be silent has made sure of it.

The divide

silent majority
PALM BEACH, FL: Newlyweds Donald Trump Sr. and Melania Trump with Hillary Rodham Clinton and Bill Clinton at their reception held at The Mar-a-Lago Club in January 22, 2005 in Palm Beach, Florida. (Photo by Maring Photography/Getty Images/Contour by Getty Images)

The disparity continues, but which side will win? If the division doesn’t desist there will be no country left to exercise your “freedoms” in. FYI what most people consider their freedoms are usually immoral and oft times illegal. This nice pic of the Clintons and the Trumps seems like it should be illegal. There will be no more wife swapping after the election I think.

It’s anyone’s election this year, who your president will be is not a representation of how silent you were. 

Posted by

Blake is a writer who specializes in content writing and novel-length fiction.

Leave a Reply

